Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Student Scholarship
NIAAA Student Athlete Scholarship

Scholarship Information
Athletic Administrators

 

Certificate of Recognition
States are encouraged to recognize each student who applies by presenting them with a certificate of recognition. Please download this Certificate of Recognition for each student that applies from your state.

NIAAA Member ID
If you have lost or forgotten your member ID number, please login to your NIAAA member profile and open your membership card. View your card by selecting "Membership Info" then "View/Print my membership card."

Scholarship Timeline
  • Applications postmarked to NIAAA liaison in respective state by the states deadline
  • Each state must select a male and female winner prior to its NIAAA Section meeting
  • April-June: Each section selects its male and female winner
  • July: NIAAA Board selects the male and female national winner
  • August: National winners notified by NIAAA office
  • December: National winners and their parents are invited to attend the national conference to be recognized and present their essay

Minimum Requirements
  • Applicant must be a senior in high school
  • Applicant must have achieved at least two (2) of the following: (a) minimum of B+ average; (b)ranked in the top 25% of class; (c) ACT score of 24 or an SAT score of 1100 (Verbal and Math)
  • Applicant must have participated in two sports for at least two years in each sport
  • Applicant must have earned at least one varsity letter in each of two sports
  • Applicant must complete attached scholar/essay application
  • Applicant must have a letter of recommendation from the high school athletic administrator/director
  • School athletic administrator/director must be an NIAAA member and a member of their respective state athletic administrators association
  • The principal or athletic administrator/director must sign the application to ensure that the academic information submitted is accurate
  • All hard copy materials must be postmarked or electronic materials sent to the NIAAA Liaison in your respective state by your states deadline.

 

Student Applicants

 

Minimum Requirements
  • Applicant must be a senior in high school
  • Applicant must have achieved at least two (2) of the following: (a) minimum of B+ average; (b)ranked in the top 25% of class; (c) ACT score of 24 or an SAT score of 1100 (Math and Reading)
  • Applicant must have participated in two sports for at least two years in each sport
  • Applicant must have earned at least one varsity letter in each of two sports
  • Applicant must complete attached scholar/essay application
  • Applicant must have a letter of recommendation from the high school athletic administrator/director
  • School athletic administrator/director must be an NIAAA member and a member of their respective state athletic administrators association
  • The principal or athletic administrator/director must sign the application to ensure that the academic information submitted is accurate
  • All hard copy materials must be postmarked or electronic materials sent to the NIAAA Liaison in your respective state by your states deadline.


Scholarship Timeline
  • Applications postmarked to NIAAA liaison in respective state by the states deadline
  • Each state must select a male and female winner prior to its NIAAA Section meeting
  • April-June: Each section selects its male and female winner
  • July: NIAAA Board selects the male and female national winner
  • August: National winners notified by NIAAA office
  • December: National winners and their parents are invited to attend the national conference to be recognized and present their essay


Scholarship Awards



State Winners
One male and one female will each receive a plaque recognizing them as state winners.

Section Winners
One male and one female in each of the eight NIAAA sections will each receive a $1,500 scholarship and a plaque recognizing them as section winners.

National Winners
One male and one female will be selected from the eight section winners to each receive a $2,500 scholarship and a glass etching recognizing them as national winners in addition to attending the National Conference for Athletic Administrators in December to present their essay.

 

Download Application
Scholarship Deadline & NIAAA Liaison Information

 

NIAAA Liaison Contact Information

The accuracy of the date listed in this table is not guaranteed. Please check with your state association to confirm the application deadline.

State
Deadline
Name
Email Address
Alabama
February 28
Brandon Dean, CMAA
bdean@ahsaa.com
Alaska
February 28
Sandi Wagner
sandi@asaa.org
Arizona
February 28
Julie Patton, CMAA
julie.patton@quhsdaz.org
Arkansas
February 28
Doug Killgore, CMAA
bowtiead232@gmail.com
California
February 28
Jean Ashen, CMAA
jeankinn.ashen@salinasuhsd.org
Colorado
February 28
Gary Leeper
gary@imigroup.org
Connecticut
January 31
Trish Witkin, CMAA
witkint@glastonburyus.org
DC
February 28
Richard Bettencourt, RAA
rbettencourt@llatinpcs.org
Delaware
January 30
Michael Wagner, CAA
loyolawags@gmail.com
Florida
May 1
Andy Chiles, CMAA
andrew.chiles@ocps.net
Georgia
February 28
Joe Sanfilippo, CAA
sanfilippojq@yahoo.com
Hawaii
February 28
Blane Gaison, CAA
gaison@ilhsports.com
Idaho
February 28
Todd Giley, CAA
tgilkey@sd41.org
Illinois
February 28
Matt Hensley, CMAA
mhensley@ms.k12.il.us
Indiana
January 10
Bruce Whitehead, CMAA
bwhitehead@niaaa.org
Iowa
January 13
Scott Garvis
scott.garvis@ankenyschools.us
Kansas
January 28
Marc Haught, CAA
kiaaaemail@gmail.com
Kentucky
February 28
Jonathan Vincent, CAA
jonathan.vincent@warren.kyschools.us
Louisiana
February 28
James Simmons, CAA
jwsimmons@lpssonline.com
Maine
February 28
Bunky Dow, CMAA
bdow@mdirss.org
Maryland
February 22
Carol Satterwhite, CAA
cmsatterwhite@verizon.net
Massachusetts
February 10
Tania Rich
mssadasecretary@gmail.com
Michigan
February 1
Meg Seng, CMAA
megmseng@greenhillsschool.org
Minnesota
February 15
Mike Beck, CAA
beckmb@live.com
Mississippi
February 28
Edward Barnett, CAA
wbarnett@misshsaa.com
Missouri
February 28
Jeff Taggart
jtaggart@northwestschools.net
Montana
February 28
Rick Phillips
rphillips@bsd44.org
Nebraska
February 28
Mike Purdy, CAA
mpurdy9998@cox.net
Nevada
February 1
Xavier Antheaume, CAA
xsa565@interact.ccsd.net
New Hampshire
January 31
Carol Dozibrin, CAA
cdozibrin@winnacunnet.org
New Jersey
February 28
David Suiter, CMAA
david.suiter.cmaa@gmail.com
New Mexico
March 15
Nickie McCarty, CAA
nickie.mccarty@taosschools.org
New York
December 4
Dennis Fries, CMAA
dfries@sectionv.org
North Carolina
February 28
Deran Coe, CMAA
dcoe@wcpss.net
North Dakota
February 28
 
 
Ohio
February 28
Bill Schumacher
wschu22@me.com
Oklahoma
February 28
Jason Culler, CMAA
jason.culler@jenksps.org
Oregon
February 1
Dave Hood, CAA
hoody.oada@gmail.com
Pennsylvania
October 31
Holly Farnese, CAA
jaberwok54@comcast.net
Rhode Island
February 1
Allen Huestis, CAA
ahuestis@cox.net
South Carolina
February 28
Myles Wilson
mwilson@spart7.org
South Dakota
February 28
Bill Clements, CAA
bill.clements@k12.sd.us
Tennessee
February 28
Greg Scott, CMAA
scottg@milanssd.org
Texas
February 28
Brenda Marshall
brenda.marshall@ccisd.us
Utah
January 31
Richard Barton, CMAA
richard.barton@seviersd.org
Vermont
October 15
Geri-Lynn Witalec, CAA
gwitalec@fwsu.org
Virginia
March 1
Bob Stratton
bobstratton21@gmail.com
Washington
February 28
Erik Titus, CAA
etitus@asd103.org
West Virginia
February 28
Don Dellinger, CMAA
ddellingerbb@gmail.com
Wisconsin
April 1
Greg Smith, CMAA
gsmith.wada@gmail.com
Wyoming
February 28
Cliff Hill, CAA
chill@ccsd.k12.wy.us






 

 

Previous National Winners

2019, Evan Gwozdz, MA, Middleboro High School
2018, Sarah Rauch, IL, Grayslake North High School
2017, Hope Vera Baldwin, MI, Hackett Catholic Prep High School
2017, Ethan Shuster, CT, Shelton High School
2016, Erin Houchins, KY, Warren East High School
2016, Ian Saum, ND, Central Cass High school
2015, Josephine Wolfe, MD, North County High School
2015, Michael Yeradi , WY, Wright High School
2014, Nicole Graham , CT, Greenwich High School
2014, Colin Hemez , NM, Los Alamos High School
2013, Velia Moran Olivas , NM, Deming High School
2013, Evan Camrud , ND, Judge Ronald N Davies High School
2012, Stephanie Honig, MD, Pikeville High School
2012, Jace Billingsley , NV, Albert M Lowry High School
2011, Molly Cain , DE, Seaford High School
2011, Marshall Moyer, IA, Burlington High School
2010, Alyvia Clark , OH, Logan Elm High School
2010, Nathanael Franks, OR, Sam Barlow High School
2009, David Wesley Welch , MS, Pearl High School
2009, Taylor Smith , IA, Central Decatur High School
2008, Ashley Nault, WI, Fond du Lac High School
2008, James Conway, AZ, Sabino High School
2007, Catherine Thomas, MS, St. Andrew's Episcopal School
2007, Austin Baker , WY, Dubois High School